During the 1977/78 academic year the University of Nigeria Senate (and subsequently NUC) approved the establishment of the faculty of Veterinary Medicine with six Departments with effect from 1stAugust 1980. The Department of Veterinary Physiology and Pharmacology was one of the six approved Departments and today it is one of the nine accredited Departments in the faculty. The Department had four major units –   namely: Veterinary Physiology, Veterinary Biochemistry, Animal Health and Production, and Veterinary Pharmacology and Toxicology However in the year 2004, Animal Health and Production attained the status of an independent academic department. Today the Department of Veterinary Physiology and Pharmacology has three units – viz: Veterinary Physiology, Veterinary Biochemistry and Veterinary Pharmacology and Toxicology. The Department offer courses to both undergraduate and post graduate students.